EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF CULTURAL ROUTES
Search :
  home page
   
  discovering Europe
  Europe in progress
  european mediations
  memory of Europe
  capital questions
  european diagonals
  who are we ?
  with whom do we work ?
  atlas of cultural routes
   
  shop
  polls
 
log in:
password
forgotten your password ?
subscribe
   
 
 your shopping cart
   
  site map
  contact us
   
 
   
  Forum
 
 
 
       the pilgrim pathways
 
  a founding theme  
Inside this domain :
Inside this heading :

To put into practice Recommendation 987 (1984) of its Parliamentary Assembly and following the discussions during the second European Conference of the Ministers responsible for the Architectural Heritage (Granada 1985), in 1987 the Council of Europe accepted the Ways towards Santiago de Compostella as the First European Cultural Route.

The Parliamentary Assembly asked the Committee of Ministers to encourage co-operation between Member States, intended to preserve and develop international pilgrimage routes, while taking as a starting point the example of the ways towards Santiago de Compostella.

a declaration

The Declaration presented at Santiago de Compostella on October 23, 1987 in the presence of European Ministers of culture records the objectives and defines the philosophy of the first cultural route: to incite the citizens of a Europe in construction and particularly the new generation:

  • to rediscover the Ways to Santiago,
  • to take note of everything that the movement towards Compostella brought to the European cultural identity,
  • to follow these ways with a sense of the future.

"The meaning of the human in society, the ideas of freedom and justice, and confidence in progress are principles that historically forged the various cultures creating the European identity". This cultural identity, added the Declaration, is, today as yesterday, the fruit of the existence of a European space full of collective memory and furrowed by ways that overcome distances, borders and incomprehension.

From this point of view and beyond their religious dimension, the Ways to Santiago de Compostella constitute a highly symbolic example: a space of tolerance, of mutual knowledge and solidarity, a space of dialogue and meeting, as well as a space of creativity where the European idea is forged concretely.

The Via Francigena, pilgrimage route towards Rome, was presented at the Advisory Committee of Cultural Routes by the Italian Government and adopted by the Culture Committee in 1994.

The topic grew rich in specific routes by giving birth to a more general framework: The Pilgrimage Ways.


Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela). Photo MTP

european importance of the theme of pilgrimage ways

The pilgrims' travels towards Santiago de Compostella, towards Rome and Jerusalem, and towards many other places of worship (Mount Saint-Michel, Canterbury, Le Puy, Aix-la-Chapelle, Saint-Gilles du Gard...) constituted a dynamics of civilisation on the scale of the European continent and represented "in the High Middle Ages, a space open to the free circulation of ideas and people" (José Maria Ballester).

Kings such as Saint Louis of France (in Rocamadour), personalities such as Holy Brigitte of Sweden (in Compostella, Rome and Jerusalem), bishops and great lords, bourgeoisie and merchants, craftsmen or ordinary citizens, shared the physical effort and the search for a common ideal in their pilgrimages.


Pilgrimway close to Astorga, Spain. Photo MTP

On his return the pilgrim was considered a new man, firstly on a spiritual level and according to the mentality of the time, because he had drawn benefit from his pilgrimage, but also on the human level, because he had gone very far in Europe. He had approached other horizons, other nationalities and other cultures. Because he had known other ways of life and had learned how to emphasise difference, he had really taken part in the construction of a new world where intercultural dialogue plays a determining role.

The vestiges of the work of civilisation developed by pilgrimage movements constitute today a major artistic, architectural, musical, literary, ethnographic and imaginary heritage, which enables us to reconstitute from one end of Europe to another the pilgrimage paths. But with very rare exceptions, there were no ways reserved for pilgrimages only, because those who traveled on the ways on political missions, for commercial or artistic reasons, were also pilgrims. Sometimes the vestige of a sanctuary of pilgrimage and its specific way remain. It is along these ways, which belonged to all those who developed Roman and later Gothic art, that the "chansons de geste" circulated, which produced the synthesis of erudite and folk cultures in medieval Europe. These paths constituted the skeleton of our modern transportation routes.

current relevance of the topic

Today new pilgrimage ways accommodate hundreds of thousands of pilgrims and walkers. They are frequented by Europeans of all ages and religions, even agnostics. There they find a space of devotion and meditation, just like a space of personal discovery. Sports tourism is practised there, on foot, horse or bicycle. It is an array of roads connecting the imaginary to social reality, as much as a structuring element of regional planning allowing the revitalisation of small localities, the revival of alternative tourism and the creation of jobs.

 
 
printer friendly version
send to a friend
 

 

 more infos ...
 other web sites
 Parliamentary Assemby
  The Assembly which recommended the programme of cultural routes.
   
 editorial content
 pilgrimage, a present phenomena
  A set of pages on pilgrimages, in history and today.
   
 documents
 Seminar in Lisbon
  Introduction to Lisbon seminar 10-11 November 2000.
   
 Seminar of Lisbon Agenda
 
   
 Routes to Santiago in France
  Speech of Michel Thomas-Penette in Burgos. 27 November 2002 (es).
   
 Associate EICR - FERPEL
 
   
 Declaration of Santiago
  French version
   
 Santiago de Compostela declaration
  October 1987 English version
   
 media library
 In the footsteps of saint James
  From Aachen to Santiago, from dream to reality. Denise Péricard-Méa.
   
 Saint James of Compostela's ways
  Gallimard guidebook.
   
 Pilgrimage and European culture
  Seminar of Viterbe, Italy.
   
 Guidebook of the pilgrim
  French translation of a manuscript from XIIth century.
   
 Compostela and saint James
  Recent research results
   
 L'An Mil
  Georges Duby proposes the description of a civilisation's change.
   
 Guidebook on European pilgrimages
  Volume 1.
   
 Guidebook on European pilgrimages
  Volume 2. Italy.
   
 


 

 home page  discovering Europe  Europe in progress  european mediations  memory of Europe  capital questions  european diagonals  who are we ?  with whom do we work ?  atlas of cultural routes  shop  polls  forum  Photo Gallery

INSTITUT EUROPEEN DES ITINERAIRES CULTURELS
Recherche :
  accueil
   
  l'Europe découverte
  l'Europe continue
  médiations européennes
  l'Europe de la mémoire
  questions capitales
  diagonales européennes
  qui sommes-nous ?
  avec qui travaillons-nous ?
  atlas itinéraires culturels
   
  boutique
  enquêtes
 
s'identifier:
mot de passe
mot de passe oublié ?
abonnez-vous
   
 
 votre panier
   
  plan du site
  contactez-nous
   
 
   
  Forum
 
 
 
       les chemins de pèlerinage
 
  un thème fondateur  
Dans ce domaine :
Dans cette rubrique :

Pour donner suite à la Recommandation 987 (1984) de son Assemblée parlementaire et aux discussions de la IIème Conférence européenne des Ministres responsables du Patrimoine Architectural (Grenade 1985), le Conseil de l'Europe a reconnu en 1987 les Chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle comme premier itinéraire culturel européen.

L'Assemblée parlementaire demandait au Comité des Ministres d'encourager une coopération entre les Etats membres destinée à préserver et développer des itinéraires internationaux de pèlerinage, en s'inspirant de l'exemple des chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle.

une déclaration

La Déclaration faite à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle le 23 octobre 1987 en présence de ministres de la culture européens, marque les objectifs et définit la philosophie du premier itinéraire culturel : inciter les citoyens de l'Europe en construction et tout particulièrement les nouvelles générations :

  • à redécouvrir les Chemins de Saint Jacques,
  • à prendre connaissance de tout ce que le mouvement vers Compostelle a apporté à l'identité culturelle européenne,
  • à parcourir à nouveau ces chemins avec un esprit d'avenir.

"Le sens de l'humain dans la société, les idées de liberté et de justice et la confiance dans le progrès sont des principes qui historiquement ont forgé les différentes cultures qui créent l'identité européenne". Cette identité culturelle, dit encore la Déclaration, est, aujourd'hui comme hier, le fruit de l'existence d'un espace européen chargé de mémoire collective et sillonné de chemins qui surmontent les distances, les frontières et les incompréhensions.

Dans cette perspective et au-delà de leur dimension religieuse, les Chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle constituent un exemple hautement symbolique : un espace de tolérance, de connaissance mutuelle et de solidarité, un espace de dialogue et de rencontre, ainsi qu'un espace de créativité où se forge concrètement l'idée européenne.

L'itinéraire de la Via Francigena, pèlerinage vers Rome a été présenté au Conseil d'Orientation des itinéraires culturels par le Gouvernement italien et adopté par le Comité de la Culture en 1994.

Le thème s'est enrichi d'itinéraires spécifiques en donnant naissance à un cadre plus général : Les Chemins de pèlerinage.


Cathédrale de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.
Cliché MTP

importance européenne du thème des chemins de pèlerinage

Les déplacements des pèlerins vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, vers Rome et Jérusalem et vers de nombreux autres lieux de culte (Mont Saint-Michel, Canterbury, Le Puy, Aix-la-Chapelle, Saint-Gilles du Gard...) ont constitué une dynamique de civilisation à l'échelle du continent européen et représenté "dès le Haut Moyen Age, un espace ouvert à la libre circulation des idées et des personnes" (José Maria Ballester).

Des rois tels que Saint Louis de France (à Rocamadour), des personnalités comme Sainte Brigitte de Suède (à Compostelle, Rome et Jérusalem), des évêques et des grands seigneurs, des bourgeois et des marchands, des artisans ou de simples citoyens, ont partagé l'effort physique et la recherche d'un idéal commun dans leurs démarches pèlerines.


Chemin de pèlerinage. Astorga, Espagne.
Cliché MTP

Le pèlerin était considéré à son retour comme un homme nouveau. Sur le plan spirituel d'abord et selon la mentalité de l'époque, parce qu'il avait tiré le bénéfice de son pèlerinage. Sur le plan humain ensuite, parce qu'il était allé très loin en Europe. Il avait approché d'autres horizons, d'autres nationalités et d'autres cultures. Parce qu'il avait connu d'autres modes de vie et qu'il avait appris à mettre en valeur la différence, il avait réellement participé à la construction d'un monde nouveau où le dialogue interculturel joue un rôle déterminant.

Les vestiges de l'oeuvre de civilisation développée par les mouvements de pèlerinage, constituent aujourd'hui un patrimoine majeur, artistique, architectural, musical, littéraire, ethnographique et imaginaire, qui nous permet de retracer d'un bout à l'autre de l'Europe les voies de pèlerinage. Mais sauf exception rarissime, il n'y a pas eu de chemins réservés seulement aux pèlerinages puisque ceux qui parcouraient les chemins pour des missions politiques, des raisons commerciales ou artistiques étaient aussi pèlerins. Parfois subsiste le vestige d'un sanctuaire de pèlerinage et d'un chemin qui lui était spécifique. C'est au travers de leurs chemins qui étaient ceux de tous que se sont développés l'art roman puis l'art gothique; que les chansons de geste ont circulé, que s'est produite la synthèse des cultures érudites et populaires dans l'Europe médiévale. Ces voies ont constitué l'ossature de nos voies de communication modernes.

actualité du thème

De nouveaux chemins de pèlerinage accueillent aujourd'hui des centaines de milliers de pèlerins et de marcheurs. Ils sont fréquentés par des Européens de tous âges, de toutes religions, voire agnostiques. Ils y trouvent un espace de dévotion, de méditation, tout comme un espace de découverte personnelle. On y pratique un tourisme sportif, à pied, à cheval ou en vélo. C'est un faisceau de routes reliant imaginaire et réalité sociale, tout autant qu'un élément structurant d'aménagement du territoire permettant la revitalisation de petites localités, la relance du tourisme alternatif et la création d'emplois.

 
 
plein écran et impression
envoyer à un ami
 

 

 en savoir plus...
 d'autres sites ?
 Assemblée Parlementaire
  L'Assemblée qui a recommandé le programme des itinéraires culturels.
   
 contenu éditorial
 Le pèlerinage, phénomène actuel
  Un ensemble de pages sur les pèlerinages, hier et aujourd'hui.
   
 documents
 Séminaire de Lisbonne
  Introduction au séminaire de Lisbonne 10-11 novembre 2000.
   
 Séminaire de Lisbonne Ordre du jour
 
   
 Chemins de saint Jacques en France
  Intervention de Michel Thomas-Penette à Burgos. 27 novembre 2002 (es).
   
 Associé IEIC - FERPEL
 
   
 Déclaration de Saint-Jacques
  Octobre 1987 version française
   
 Déclaration de Saint-Jacques
  version anglaise
   
 médiathèque
 Dans les pas de saint Jacques
  D'Aix-la-Chapelle à Compostelle, du rêve à la réalité. Denise Péricard-Méa
   
 Connaître les Chemins de St-Jacques
  Le guide Gallimard.
   
 Pélerinage et culture européenne
  Colloque de Viterbe, Italie.
   
 Guide du pèlerin
  Traduction française de 1938 d'un manuscrit du XIIe, édité en 1882
   
 Compostelle et saint Jacques
  La recherche la plus récente sur saint Jacques et compostelle
   
 L'An Mil
  Georges Duby décrit un changement de civilisation.
   
 Guide des pèlerinages européens
  Le Tome 1.
   
 Guide des Pèlerinages Européens
  Tome 2. L'Italie.
   
 


 

 accueil  l'Europe découverte  l'Europe continue  médiations européennes  l'Europe de la mémoire  questions capitales  diagonales européennes  qui sommes-nous ?  avec qui travaillons-nous ?  itinéraires culturels  boutique  enquêtes  forum  Galerie photo